101.9 FM's Tambayan OPM Awards heralds OPM greats anew

4:30 PM

FM station 101.9 held it's 3rd annual Tambayan Original Pinoy Music Awards or TOPMA with an interesting mix of winners, grand production numbers (and outfits) by its resident DJs, a bigger venue and a more boisterous crowd at SM Skydome in Quezon City last June 30, 2012. 

Comedian Vice Ganda, TV host, actress and now recording star Anne Curtis, talent search winners Christian Bautista, Erik Santos, Angeline Quinto, Jovit Baldivino, band Kamikazee, and newcomer Paula Bianca were the evening's big winners. The biggest Filipino band in the 70's, Juan dela Cruz Band, meanwhile, returned to the stage to perform their biggest hits and receive the citation as "TamBayani Awardee". 

Overall, it was a humble awards show but could count as one of local music's best, aiming to revive the seemingly dwindling presence of original Filipino music in the airwaves. The categories might not be as technical as Awit or Katha Awards' but the 30% listeners' votes- 30% judges' votes- 40% TOPMA committee votes criteria used to determine the winners made TOPMA distinct, popular, credible and relevant. 

Stealing the night and getting used to it, Vice Ganda surprised the audience when he appeared on stage to personally accept his two trophies; "Phenomenal Entertainer of the Year" tied with Anne Curtis and "Novelty Song of the Year" for his song "Ayoko Na Sayo". 
Second and third photo shows the comedian on an impromptu skit with 101.9's DJ Chacha 
while last photo shows a taped acceptance speech of the other "Phenomenal Entertainer of the Year" Anne Curtis as Vice Ganda looks on. 

Adding more glitz to the event are presentors 
(photo 1) Matteo Guidicelli and Maja Salvador
 and (photo 2) the stars of ABS-CBN's drama series "Aryana"; Ella Cruz and Dominic Roque

PHOTOS BELOW shows a roll call of winners and performers
Christian Bautista
Angeline Quinto
Gloc 9
Kitchie Nadal
Barbie Almabis
Yeng Constantino
Bugoy Drilon
Lizel Garcia
Bryan Termulo

TOPMA recognizes the best OPM's produced and released starting January 1 to December 31, 2011

Phenomenal Entertainers of the Year: Vice Ganda and Anne Curtis
Male Artist of the Year: Christian Bautista
Female Artist of the Year: Angeline Quinto
Band of the Year: Kamikazee
Best New Artist: Paula Bianca (singer of the phenomenal hit "Napakasakit")

Album of the Year
Winner: Patuloy Ang Pangarap by Angeline Quinto
Nominees: Outbound by Christian Bautista l Dalawang Mukha ng Pag-ibig by Ebe Dencel l Awit Para Sayo by Erik Santos

Song of the Year
Winner: "Kulang Ako Kung Wala Ka" by Erik Santos
Nominees: "Patuloy Ang Pangarap by Angeline Quinto l "Gisingin Ang Puso" by Lizel Garcia l "Tinamaan Ako" by Anne Curtis l "Porque" by Maldita l "Halik" by Kamikazee

OPM Revival of the Year: "Dahil Mahal Kita" by Jovit Baldivino
Novelty Song of the Year: "Ayoko Na Sayo" by Vice Ganda
Kantamercial of the Year: Nescafe's "Sweet and Mild" 
(remember that song with the opening line "Good morning sa inyo...")

Tambayani Awardee: Juan dela Cruz Band

Judges: Rachel Alejandro, Gary Granada and Jose Mari Chan

The DJs of Tambayan 101.9 FM hosted the show and also provided production numbers. 
Photo below shows this blogger with the rest of the rowdy crowd during earlier's awards night at SM Skydome. 

You Might Also Like

0 Reactions